Tuesday, November 08, 2005

World Champion Auctioneers Crowned

Winner: All Round World and Canadian Champion - Rod Burnett, Warburg, Alberta. (Center)

Presenters are President Gary Peterson (right) and Michel "Hoss" Bertrand, (Left) who was the MC of the Competition.


“Alberta Auctioneer Captures ALL ROUND WORLD and CANADIAN Auctioneering Championship”

(Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, November 1, 2005)

From October 26th to 29th Edmonton, Alberta played host to the annual Convention of the Auctioneers Association of Canada and the All `Round World Championship Auction competition.

Consisting of three days of workshops, seminars, the AA of C Annual General Meeting and some “fun” events, the convention was attended by delegates from across the country.

It wasn’t all work, with fun and benefit events put on for both the participants and the public. Preceding the auction competition on Saturday, October 29th, the AA of C conducted an “Antiques Road Show” appraisal/evaluation event, where members of the public had a chance to get an appraisal of their favourite antique and/or collectible.

The auction competition, a charity auction, was the highlight event, and was put on with the generous support and participation of Kin Canada. This event was open to the public, who had the opportunity to bid on a wide range of items generously donated by merchants and organizations across the country. The competition was in support of Kin Canada and the Stollery Children’s Hospital of Edmonton.

Contestants from across the country participated. Competing auctioneers were judged on fifteen different criteria in categories that included presentation, chant and effective selling. After a spirited competition, Mr. Rod Burnett of Warburg, Alberta was named both World and Canadian Champion. Mr. Brad Martens of Gibbons, Alberta was 1st Runner Up, making it an Alberta sweep..

The Annual General Meeting and new Board of Directors meetings were held on Thursday, October 27th. The Board and Executive elected for 2004-2005 are: President – Gary Peterson, Hudson, PQ; 1st Vice President – Michel Bertrand, Oakville, ON; 2nd Vice President - John Fitzpatrick, St. Johns, NL; Treasurer – Arthur Clausen, Edmonton, AB. Other Board members are: Blair Loveless, St. Johns, NL; Maurice Neville, Georgetown, ON; Tiffany Gardner, London, ON; Barry Gray, Harriston, ON; Kingsley Gardner, London, ON; Brad Meyers, Arden, MB, Mark Cunningham, Edmonton, AB and Delton Wolff, Dapp, AB. The Executive Director is Joe Belland, Edmonton, AB.

Runners Up:
1st Runner Up - Brad Martens, Gibbons, Alberta (Right)
2nd - Brad Wolff, Dapp, Alberta
3rd - Ron Sekura, Drayton Valley, Alberta
4th & 5th (Tied) - Dave Johnson, Airdrie, Alberta, and Dan Clark, Brampton, Ontario.